top of page
Search

Chapter Eight: Music and Breath

Updated: May 19, 2021

After having this crucial realization, I began to think about how I could find a way to mix breathing exercises and music. At first, I was having trouble coming up with ideas because for some reason I wanted to do something very radical, to this day I still don’t know why I began brainstorming with this goal. As the deadlines would come closer and closer, I had to figure out a way to make a performance, and all of a sudden one day it came to me, I decided to create my own version of the Wim Hof Method. By saying “create my own version” I don’t mean to invent my own breathing technique but Wim Hof has a YouTube channel in which has videos where he guides you through his breathing technique. There are levels to his breathing technique starting from “Beginner” going all the way to “Advanced”, he also has a lot more content explaining his method and much more, which I can highly recommend if you are interested.

These videos are relatively short videos lasting around 10 minutes with very relaxing music in the background while he talks over it, and so I thought, “what if I make a guide to the Wim Hof Method and make the music for it?”. At that moment I knew that was exactly what I was looking for and I did not have time to rethink it twice, because I was two weeks away from the deadline, so began working on it the same day I got the idea. Because I needed to perform it, I thought I could take a similar approach to Wim’s video but instead of having an animated visual, I could make a well-edited video of myself doing the beginners Wim Hof Method and upload a video to my YouTube channel and to my Instagram as well. I gave more thought to this idea, and I believe that I can make a series out of this idea by making guides for multiple other breathing exercises. I began to daydream about a future in which I could collaborate with Wim Hof and to be honest, I believe it can be very possible and I will begin to reach this goal.

I reached out to close friends of mine that are filmmakers and asked them if they could help me by recording and editing the video and they were absolutely in it. Quick story, a month before we shot this video I was beginning to learn about the breathing exercises and I teach them what I would learn, few days went by and they began to do the breathing exercises on almost a daily basis, I would get so excited about the fact that I got them into doing breathing exercises that this fueled my idea for my new personal mission I was beginning to discover. Coming back to my main point, we decided to make the video very peaceful and filled with nature to foment Wim’s opinion because he says that we need to reconnect with our bodies and nature and I agree with him.

During the planning of the shoot I had to make the soundtrack for the guide but I didn’t realize that I had to produce a 9-minute track in 3 days, but I did and the knowledge I learned from exploring hardware was used very wisely.



For my setup I used the organelle m as the main synthesizer and ran it through the terra echo pedal, then, I recorded the percussion and a kalimba with the Neuman TLM103.

On another studio session, I recorded my voice with the EV RC20.

I challenged myself to this because my gut was telling me that this was it. In the end, I finished the 9-minute track on time, and my friends also finished editing the video right on time.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page